Regional, State, and Federal Agencies

Many local and regional organizations provide informational websites to help you plan and prepare for disasters. A selection of these resources is available below.

Metropolitan Transit Authority (METRO)
Route Information and Customer Service 713.635.4000 @metrohouston
facebook.com/ridemetro
METRO Lift 713.225.0119
METRO Police 713.224.COPS (2677)
Regional, State, and Federal Agencies  
Texas Consumer Protection 800.621.0508 texasattorneygeneral.gov/cpd/ consumer-protection
Harris County Area Agency On Aging 832.393.4301 http://www.houstontx.gov/health/Aging/
Department of Aging and Disability Services (DADS) 512.438.3011 855.937.2372 www.dads.state.tx.us
Texas Health and Human Services (HHS) 512.424.6500 https://hhs.texas.gov/
Texas Department of Transportation – Houston District  713.881.3106 txdot.gov/travel
@txdot or @txdothoustonpio
facebook.com/txdot 
National Weather Service Houston/Galveston 281.337.5074 weather.gov/houston
@nwshouston
facebook.com/NWSHouston
FEMA Disaster Assistance 800.621.FEMA (3362) disasterassistance.gov
@fema
facebook.com/fema
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) 800.CDC.INFO (800.232.4636) cdc.gov
@CDCgov
facebook.com/cdc
National Flood Insurance Program 888.379.9531 floodsmart.gov
Report Suspicious Activity Emergency: 9-1-1 Non-Emergency: 855.i.Watch.4 (855.492.8244) iwatchhouston.org
CenterPoint Energy Electric: 800.332.7143 Gas: 800.752.8036 centerpointenergy.com/outagetracker
@CNPAlerts
facebook.com/centerpointenergy
Entergy 800.9.OUTAGE (800.968.8243) www.etrviewoutage.com/external/tx.aspx
@entergytx
facebook.com/EntergyTX
Texas New Mexico Power 888.866.7456 tnmp.com
@tnmp
facebook.com/texasnewmexicopower
Service Agencies  
American Red Cross of Greater Houston 866.526.8300 redcross.org/tx/houston
Poison Control 800.222.1222 poisoncontrol.org
@txpoisoncontrol
facebook.com/txpcn
Salvation Army Greater Houston Area Command 713.752.0677 salvationarmyhouston.org
@salarmyhouston
facebook.com/salvationarmyhouston
2-1-1 Texas/United Way Helpline 2-1-1 or 877.541.7905 211texas.org
 Disaster Distress Helpline  800.985.5990  disasterdistress.samhsa.gov
@distressline
facebook.com/distresshelpline
 Web Resources  
 Together Against the Weather  Hurricane Preparedness for Persons with Access and Functional Needs  togetheragainsttheweather.org
 Flood Warning System Monitor Stream Gauges and Rainfall Levels
 Flood Education Mapping Tool  Find Flood Risk for your Area  harriscountyfemt.org
 Houston TranStar  Map of Current Traffic Conditions  houstontranstar.org
@houstontranstar
facebook.com/houstontranstar.org
 Drive Texas  Online portal from Texas Department of Transportation  drivetexas.org
@txdotalert
 FEMA Ready  National Disaster Preparedness Campaign  ready.gov
@readygov
facebook.com/readygov

 

RESOURCES

R

Emergency Plan Checklist

Sit down together and decide how you will get in contact with each other, where you will go, and what you will do in an emergency.

+ DOWNLOAD NOW

Disaster Preparedness Guide

The Disaster Preparedness Guide will help you be better prepared for the next big disaster. Thank you for taking the first step.

+ DOWNLOAD NOW (English)
+ DOWNLOAD NOW (Spanish)
+ DOWNLOAD NOW (Vietnamese)
+ DOWNLOAD NOW (Chinese)
+ DOWNLOAD NOW (French)
+ DOWNLOAD NOW (Arabic)

REGIONAL DISASTER PREPAREDNESS